Bullets, Boxing & John Wilkes Booth

Status
Not open for further replies.

itsfrankiesgal

Hello Gents,

I'm an author and historian checking the last of my facts/claims, for a non-fiction biography on a 1920s prizefighter killed in the ring, which I will publish in late June, early July. I hope you might please confirm/correct/have a good laugh, at a paragraph I wrote (below). Those I've reached out to, involved with antique arms magazines, requested more info to "do the math," but never replied after said info was provided.

My claim in the book is as follows:

"According to Duke University biomechanics expert James McElhaney, a heavyweight's wallop can land with around 1200 foot-pounds of force. That’s equal to the explosive energy of an armor-piercing bullet. Max Baer was said to have one of the hardest punches in fight history. The damage he inflicted on Frankie Campbell was equal to at least two times the force of the bullet the assassin John Wilkes Booth shot into the head of President Abraham Lincoln."

The "do the math" info I was asked to provide is as follows:

The handgun that Booth shot Lincoln with was a 44 caliber single-shot, 5.87-inch derringer.

The bullet was a spherical lead ball weighing "nearly an ounce," and composed of a mixture of antimony, tin, copper, and soft lead.

Eyewitnesses claim Booth shot Lincoln in back of the head from about 3 feet away.

Last request was general info for an armor piercing bullet. I randomly selected the Tarkov Ballistics. It's a 7.62x39mm BP gzh (GRAU Index - 7N23) cartridge with a 7.9 gram armor-piercing bullet with a hardened carbon steel core with lead cladding on the tip and a bimetallic jacket, in a bimetallic case. This particular round has the following properties:

Muzzle Velocity 730 m/s
Damage 58
Penetration Power 47
Ballistic Coefficient 0.28

Please let me know if you need any other information and I'll try my best.