Bullet Weight For Different Hunts

sig970

With any luck, and my points, I am going to draw three tags this year. Previous to this year I have hunted with a Remington 7400 in .270. I used this for both mule deer and Cow and freezer Bulls.
This year is different. I now am the proud owner of a SIG SHR 970 in 30-06. My hope is to draw for mule deer, antelope, and an ANY BULL tag.(Trophy hunt)

Previously I used various 130 gr bullets for mule deer, and 150 gr Speer Grand Slams for COWS AND SPIKES.

I'm not a hand loader.

NOW that I have the basic 150 - 180 gr option, and am looking for suggestion for the Mule Deer and Antelope. I have aquired a box of Federal High Energy ammo, loaded with 180 gr Trophy Bonded bullets, and thus have my Elk round. I think this is a little bit of overkill for antelope and mule deer. I have no experience with mid weight 165 gr .

My mule deer hunts can vary from wooded to open hillside, shots usually at around 80 - 120 yards.

Antelope are much more open, with shots at 100 - 200 yards.

Anyone out there have suggestions for 150's or 165's, One of the guys in my crew uses 180's for everything, but I'd like some other input, while I still have plenty of time to try out different loads.

Well, you can always be a cheapskate and do like your buddies; use that box of 180s for all of 'em. :D That 180 oughta be the ticket for elk.

After 200 yards or so, there isn't a lot of trajectory difference between the three bullets--surprisingly! Some, of course, but not a lot...

If you're gonna experiment, try a box of the High Energy 165s. I've had some email correspondence with a guy in Australia who swears by them; sez his chronograph agrees with the velocities on the box. Anyhow, oughta work great on mule deer.

Whatever groups best in your rifle with either a 125-grain or 150-grain, for antelope. They're not real big. I killed mine with a 150-grain Sierra SPBT at around 100 yards or so; angling frontal chest shot; the bullet blew right on through.