Bullet for 6.5mm Grendel

tangolima

New to loading this cartridge. What bullet weight are you guys loading with? 6.5mm projectiles have become silly expensive and most of them are 140gr. I think they work the best with higher volume rounds such as 6.5mm creedmore or 6.5mm swedish mauser. For Grendel it could be too heavy. Thanks in advance for your inputs.

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

I’m a bit new to the Grendel also. I picked the round over the 6.8 SPC purely because I have bullets and powder (for my 260) that’ll work for the Grendel. I bought some Hornady factory loads with the 123 gr SST to get some brass for reloading. So far I’m loading the 95 gr V-Max as I generate empty brass, but my long term hope is to get my hands on some more 100 gr Nosler Ballistic Tips. That’s the bullet I want to hunt deer and pigs with. It works great in the 260 and I’m thinking that it should do very well at the lower velocity in the Grendel.

@tangolima: The answer is what you surmised and what "mehavey" said: Lighter bullets work better. Like "603country", I bought 200 rounds of 123 grain hornady, 'black' ammunition for the brass. I have three boxes of Lapua 108 grain scenars for re-loading my howa, mini 1500 bolt action grendel. Haven't decided on a powder, but given the powder scarcity and expense, I'll try to make do with a powder already in my stock.

i am shooting an ar that i built, and so far i have a good load worked up with the hornady 95gr v-max shoots really well

and i am working on a load with the sierra 120gr spitzer pro hunter bullet #1720...i wanted to use it in this rifle for deer this year but i have run out of time, season starts next sat. the load i have so far is probably good enough but my brain dont work in good enough so i will be using the CM again this year