Building an AR15 for competition

SMS

Inactive
Hi Guys, first post here. I used to shoot .22 competition when I was in high school, and would like to get into shooting High Power service rifle competitions here in Michigan. I tried to find a RRA NM A2, but no luck, and I really don't want to wait 9 months or longer for one.

I figured I would try to put a match rifle together. Is it important what lower receiver is used? I see RRA does make a match lower/upper kit, but their stuff is so hard to get right now,and I dont know if the lower even makes a difference.

I thought just buying any lower, a 2 stage trigger, and maybe an upper from White Oak, might be easier. I guess my main question is;Is it important what lower receiver is used to build a match rifle? Thanks.

Steve

In high power, the upper is much more important then the lower. Thats assuming you add a dicient trigger.

I've been shooting high power for 30 years when I desided to relent, and move into the AR rifles and from the Super Match M1A.

I did quite a bit of research trying to find the best upper. I found that White Oak was the top of the line. I went that route and put the White Oak Service Rifle upper on my Colt lower (and added a trigger).

The White Oak exceeded my expitations. The service is excellant also.

I would suggest talking to all the high power shooters you can to determind which one they use.

Thanks Kraig. At this point, I don't know any high power shooters. All of my ideas were derived from searching the net. That's how I found this site!:)

Steve

Big Dawgs

If you want to hear what the world champions do or even talk with them, go to www.nationalmatch.us that is where thay all hang out.

kraigwy answered your question. any lower with a 2 stage trigger and a good upper (White Oak, Compass Lake, Acuracy Speaks, Rock River). I have heard good things about Bushmaster's DMC but, I also have heard they have bad triggers.