Browning Rifle Caliber Opinions !

TOP GUN

Hi..

I'm thinking about buying a Browning A-Bolt Rifle.

I'll be using it for plinking and someday maybe for hunting (deer).

Since I have no experience with rifles (only handguns), I'd like your opinions. I'm thinking about a 223, because it's not a cannon and the ammo is plentiful and inexpensive.

I've handled quite a few of this type of rifle and the Browning seemed to be of far better quality for this price range ($600).

I'd appreciate your thoughts on the Browning A-Bolt Composite Stock, the .223 caliber and anywhere that has great deals on them !

Also, is the BOSS thing really worth it ?

Thanks !

TOP GUN

[This message has been edited by TOP GUN (edited January 10, 2000).]

Top Gun,

The Browning A-bolt is an excellent rifle. The BOSS has a lot of science behind it, but a lot of old shooters don't have much regard for it because they get their rifles to shoot well without it.

Now a lot of us think that's part of the fun, but if you don't want to reload and tinker then get an A-bolt with BOSS. Then find the ammo you like and you can probably tune the barrel up to the ammo. Backasswards from tradition, but if it's your cup o'tea, then ... go for it.

About the .223 Remington for whitetail ... well, your profile doesn't say what part of the country you're in, but here in Georgia, it's legal. However, it's frowned on because the .223 absolutely requires exact shot placement, in my humble opinion.

A clean kill is an obligation we have as sportsmen (and women). Not trying to preach. There may very well be some different opinions on this posted behind me, but I recommend against the .223 for deer.

Regards and Good Luck.

Sensop

Then what would be the minimum caliber that isn't expensive or cannon-like that I COULD use ?

Thanks ! I appreciate your opinions !

TOP GUN