Bought my first handgun today

cig1ar

I have various rifles, so I'm not new to long guns but I'm brand new to hand guns!
Here's my question (first of many I'm sure)
I just picked up a Steyr M 40, Is it wise to keep the magazine loaded at all time or will this ruin the spring in the magazine?

I know this is an Ignorant question but I was raised if you don't know something ask...............

Thank you for your time and patience,

Cig1ar

Probably if you keep it loaded for a hundred years the spring will wear out. I wouldn't worry about it.

------------------
"Those that give up essential liberties for a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining.

Congrats on the purchase! I was looking at one of these too. After you take it to the range tell us how it is please. Dont forget to practice to get a feel for the guns!

The way I run my magazines is that I have at least 6 of them. One in the weapon, and 2 spares, with a complete backup set. Every two months, I down load one set, and go to the back up. Every 6 months I shoot up the ammo, and replace with fresh loads. This might be extreme, but for something that just might be called upon to save my life, I'm going to side with caution, and vigilance!!!!!!

Just as an aside, nowadays finding that many high cap mags is a b**ch!!!!!!!!!

------------------
Just as there is no such thing as too much fun,
there is no such thing as owning just one gun!!!

My dad had 7.62 German luger mags loaded and stored in a suitcase for 30 yrs. Springs were compressed and would NOT feed. Perhaps manufacturers are using better steel in the mags now, but a friend of mine (sheriff) rotates his P245 mags every payday and keeps a pair empty to keep their strength.