Bore scratches in new gun

hondo25

Inactive
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and have recently purchased a new SAA clone in .44-.40 at a considerable cost of about $800.00. I'd rather not mention the manufacturer's name as I have purchased several of their replica's and their customer service has been outstanding.

My concern is this. As I went about cleaning it up this past weekend in preparation for its first firing, I noticed a few small scratches inside the bore. After a thorough cleaning with Butches' Bore Shine and a finish with "JB's", I could still see these scratches. They are pretty much confined to the middle of the inside of the bore. They appear to be superficial and do not seem to be compromising the rifling or the edges of the rifling. The barrel itself is 5 1/2".

I can package it up and fed-ex it back to the manufacturer. My questions is, is it worth the bother?

I'm relatively new to guns but the few that I currently own do not have any scratches, minor or otherwise, inside their bores. I'm not sure how much this would affect the guns performance. I plan to shoot primarily factory "Cowboy Action loads" at the local range.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Hondo

Hondo, from my experince over the years, I have came across quite a few brand new guns with scratches in the bore. What these are, is actually tool marks, caused by the reaming and rifling process. You are most likely to see these kinds of marks in a button rifled barrel. 99.9% of the time these are purely cosmetic, and in no way adversely effects the accuracy. The only thing it may do is "lead" bore a little more quickly, than a perfectly smooth bore.