Bolt hard to cycle after shot ??

ReloadKy

Bolt hard to cycle after shot ?? UPDATE

So I started shooting my savage 110 in 7mm-08. I was shooting Nosler brass with 40 gr of H4895 and a 120 gr Nosler ballistic tip. I loaded CBTO of 2.277 which gave me an OAL of around 2.863. This is .063 longer than SAAMI spec for 7mm-08. However, the rounds loaded easily so I went ahead and shot them. I had time to fire 6 rounds today. After the first shot the bolt lift was easy put pulling to bolt back to eject the brass was fairly difficult. I experienced this on 5 out of the 6 shots. The load should not have any pressure issues at all. Any clue as to why the bolt was so hard to move after firing?

Last edited:
Round went in easy and came back out easy as well non fired?

Did you form your own 7mm 07 brass?

No marks on the fired brass. I am using brand new Nosler brass that is 2.018. Unfired brass cycles fine. Loaded cartridges cycle fine. I tried putting the fired cases back in the rifle and the fired cases do not cycle near as well as the unfired cases.

Primary extraction happens during the last leg of bolt handle lift. Was it hard to do? Did you need to bang the handle knob up for the last bit? How does the extracted brass look like? Any marks on the body of the brass?

Since you were handloading your rounds, did you shoot any other rounds with lighter loads?

Any work have been done on the primary extraction camming surfaces, such as the root of the bolt handle?

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Is this a new rifle or barrel. I would consider carefully measure the fired brass and compare it to the published specs.

I would still check the scope primary extraction.

Last edited: