Best scope for an AR-15?

Josh D

What is a good scope for an AR? I would be firing out to 300 yds with the occasional 400-500 yard shot. Any good BDC scopes out there? This would be mounted on a flattop. I would prefer one that is under $250.00 I have heard that the Reflex is great, but I am wondering about the long distance range, it would probably be marginal at best.

Josh,
I've got a 4x32 Trijicon ACOG. I think it's the best scope for an AR. Don't know where you'd find one in your price range though.

I've also got a 4x20 (made by a Japanese company and sold under the Colt name) that would be closer to your price range. The BDC is computed for 55 gr ammo out of a 20" barrel.

I've got no experience with the Marksmans Elite, so I can't really comment on how they work.

I've heard both good and bad things about the cheap ($29.95 - $49.95) Chinese copies of the Colt scope I mentioned earlier. The general consensus is that you either get a good one or a bad one, there isn't much consistancy to them.

I'd have to recommend the Colt scope for the application you mentioned. I think it's the only one in your price range that has a BDC.

I wouldn't recommend the red dot reflex scopes for long distance shooting. On many of them the dot is bigger then the target out past 300 meters.
HTH
Jeff

I have the AMT "Professional" 5 X 33 scope with a bullet drop compensator, illumanated etched crosshairs and a range finder. It's fairly small, pretty rugged and light wieght. It mounts in 30 mm rings.

I like mine enough to keep it as my primary rifle scope on my AR flat top. The system works pretty well. I took a 3 foot tall target out into the high desert of California and placed it at random distances between 150 and 400 yards (that's a long walk in the heat :)).

The range finder and compensator worked well enough to keep shots really tight in the vitals - concidering I was shooting out to 400 yards I could still group around the X ring.

It sells for about $230.