Best Personal Defense Ammo For the 45 ACP

centralpadoug

I have read countless articles about the multitudes of personal defense ammo on the market. I currently use Speer Gold Dot 230g hp bullets for personal defense purposes.

My wife hates the bullets because they are such a hot round. The matter gets worse with Cor bon +p+ 230's. Any ideas? As she goes to a PMC fmj 230 she does fine. Obviously a hollow point will be more effective, but only if it hits where it is needed.

I don't mind the hotter load of the Speer for my .45. But is there a hollow point that is more tame that will still get the job done for my wife to carry in her .45?

Thanks for your ideas!

Hello. I have no personal experience with bbls shorter than 4" and prefer the full 5" in this caliber. In this range of bbl lengths, I prefer Federal 230 gr HydraShok.

Best.

Check out Federals new Personal Defence ammo 165g low recoil HP's. Seems to be a good round have not shot a lot yet but early testing shows that it is a great round.

Like Tamara said, 230 gr Federal HydraShoks. They are a standard pressure load and shouldn't cause the problems that you mention with the +P loads. Plus they generally feed thru most guns without trouble(Although you should of course confirm that) They are considered good stoppers by many of the stopping power types but I'm not prepared to say they are any better than the Gold Dot loads.

Don in Ohio

The 230 grain Fed HS has good statistics-if statistics really mean much. In my HK USP C (sub 4" bbl) it produces less muzzle flash than the 165 "Personal Defense" round. I really noticed this in a dark AIS video simulator scenario- the 165's really lit things up with a large orange-white flash, while the 230's flash was just as bright but much smaller. Double-taps were pretty spectacular with the 165's in semi-darkness. Spectacular isn't what I want in a defense round. This was the case with two separate lot numbers.