Best Hog Hunting Guns

Status
Not open for further replies.

979Texas

I have been hunting hogs since I was 9 years old down here in the deep deep southeast corner of the post oak savanah down in Texas. I love hog hunting and do it year round because of the prolific hog population down here. Anyways I have used all the way from Ruger 10/22's and 12 gauges with 000 buckshot and pistols all the way up to .35 remington and AR-15s to take down hogs as well as hunting with dogs and using a knife to neutralize the hog. So I just want yalls' personal favorites and opinions on guns for hog hunting in general. Thanks.

I shot a monster boar with my AAC Handi Rifle in 300 Blackout, Nikon AR 3x scope...this year I will be back among them with a Ruger Scout .223 with a Bushnell AR luminated 1x4. Of course the Handi and one of my 300 Blackout AR's will be there too.

Yeah all I have really used in the past few years for hogs is a 300 blackout M&P 15 and hav had great success with it. It is still my main carry rifle for hogs.
And natman I bet that 358 is a real beast for hogs.

I usually shoot them at night and I have a Remington 760 pump carbine length in 30-06 set up with iron sights, a laser, and a flashlight. I have also shot (and killed) them with AR-15 (.223) and also with 4" .357 magnum revolver, but the 30-06 knocks the snot out of them and I'll carry that if I'm specifically looking for them.

If i'm in the woods I'm usually carrying a Henry .44mag or Remington 1100 12ga with a 629 on my side as backup. Over a field with a less than 100yd shot, my frankengun AR in 6.8spc or 300BO. For over a 100yd shot, either my 700 in .270 or my 788 in .308. I like variety when hog huntin lol.

Kinda depends on how close you wanna get to them. Any rifle that you'd use on a deer will work, and then some.

Brush or night hunting may take something different than an average deer rifle... Most choose a carbine...

Some run suppressors and night scopes

I have taken them with a 9mm pistol.