Best handgun caliber for the $?

PatrickBateman

Pretty much deciding between 9mm, 357sig, 40s&w, and 45ACP. Which would you say is the best caliber in terms of effectiveness (for carry and home protection) and cost? Im new to guns and am looking for some opinions! Thanks!

EDIT: Also factoring in availability! I know 357 is pretty hard to come by, and for a reasonable price at that.

9mm is the generally least expensive out of those you listed, and can be had in several effective loads.

9mm, no question. Assuming premium JHP, testing shows more or less no practical wounding or penetration difference between 9mm, .357Sig, .40S&W, and .45acp on soft targets, and 9mm ammo is substantially cheaper than any of the others.

That said, I like .40S&W with a 9mm conversion barrel so I can shoot both (I spend a fair amount of time in a car, and .40 does better through barriers than 9mm).

While I'm not a huge 9mm fan I have to agree, I'm paying $37 and $43 per 100rd box of .40SW and .45ACP respectively and training is getting expensive.

And when you're talking about terminal performance in handgun rounds there really isn't a stark difference until you factor in big bore magnum revolvers. I landed at .45 because 1911s were the first handgun that really fit well in my hands and that I could shoot accurately. I have a .40 Glock that was gifted to me and I'm learning to like it.

PatrickBateman said:
Pretty much deciding between 9mm, 357sig, 40s&w, and 45ACP. Which would you say is the best caliber in terms of effectiveness (for carry and home protection) and cost? Im new to guns and am looking for some opinions! Thanks!

Welcome to TFL.

The caliber question has been discussed, debated, argued, and dragged out to the point that I think the topic itself is a member of the undead.

In leiu of silver bullets and wooden stakes, allow me to give some very basic facts.