Best barrel twist rates for cast boolits ???

OK,,,

So I have been casting for a couple of years now starting out loading for my pistols and not that long ago started to cast for a couple of rifles and am getting some fair results for accuracy at less than stellar performance. My quest is taking me into improving ballistic performance without getting into such things as paper patching . I am aware of how key issues such as alloy and BHN along with proper bullet fit influence potential bullet performance and as recently found out pressure ( PSI and CUP ) are the controlling factor based on BHN as to what can be deemed the "upper limit" for any particular bullet and powder combination before gas cutting and iminent failure occur. So that being said I guess what I am interested in is how rifling twist rate may come into play insofar as velocity vs. BHN to get an idea as to if the softer BHN alloys are more tolerant of slower twist rates in a barrel when driven to say 2000 fps vs faster twist rates to avoid overdriving the riflings . How little twist rate might actually be needed to stabilize a cast boolit ? I would like to stay around 22 BHN on my rifle casts so as not to have the bullets become brittle and have other issues. Little things like this cause me to lose sleep sometimes if you can relate to that. Any personal insight or steerage to some articles on this subject ( if any ) would be greatly appreciated guys,,,

Thanks, 10 SPOT

I just saw this has no responses :confused: in my way of thinking the longer twist will be better for cast .

Not torquing on the bullet so bad , but there is a balance of weight & twist!

This is not a cast bullet related incident but I had a Rem model 7 in 243 that would not shot a 100gr bullet , dropped back to 87gr & it would drill em all day long cold,hot ,dirty or clean bore !!

Yeah GP100MAN ,,,