Best .357 magnum ammo for range

KLCane

I am a firearms beginner and brand new to the board. I have a Ruger gp100. Looking for good range ammo. I want something that will slide cases out of the cylinder without having to pick each one out one-by-one after shooting.

Thanks.

You can shoot 38 Special in your 357 Magnum revolver. But good cleaning of the chambers is important in order to remove a carbon ring that could make chambering 357 magnum rounds.
The outside physical difference in 38 Spcl. and 357 Magnum is that the magnum round is 1/10" longer so they can't be used in a 38 Spcl. chambered gun.
That leaves a small gap that fouling can build up in.
You shouldn't have to pick each case out of a GP100. It has a swing out cylinder, and ejector rod that pushes a "star" holding the case rims out of the cylinder.

Agree with Cheapshooter. What are you shooting now causing you to have to pluck the fired brass out of the chambers? There is something definatley amiss. How do you clean your revolver and how often?

I have only fired about 200 rounds on it. Haven't cleaned it yet. I'm going to clean it before taking it to the range this week.

Any opinions on the best range ammo for 357 mag??

I suggest you stay with a 158gr bullet...and in retail ammo in this caliber I would recommend Magtech 158gr JSP......./ ...quite a few guys that I know that don't reload are happy with it. You might also try Win or Federal.....

Stay away from lighter weight bullets...125gr, etc....a lot of that is pretty hot and might cause some issues.

One load my 3” GP100 likes a lot is the American Eagle 158gn jacketed soft point. Very accurate, easy shooting load that hits the steel plates my club has pretty hard.

What are you shooting now causing you to have to pluck the fired brass out of the chambers? There is something definatley amiss.