Best .32ACP defense ammo for Guardian?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DWM

Hello,

I'm trying to decide on a good self-defense round for my Guardian .32ACP. I would like something very effective, but not "hot" enough to put excessive wear-n-tear on the gun, if that is possible in this caliber.

Any opinions would be appreciated. Thanks.

DWM

I also recommend the Silvertips. I have ran many of them through my Guardian without a hitch. I tried the Fiocchi JHPs, but they did not feed well. If I remember correctly, the longer overall length was the culprit. --- BE

------------------
911 = Government sponsored dial-a-prayer

Greetings. I have little experience with .32acp, but my wife's Walther PP is loaded with Hornady factory XTPs. They feed better than Silvertips did and I feel they'll penetrate a bit more as well. This std pressure load would probably be worth looking at in the smaller .32s as well. Best.

The TRUTH is that we really don't have a consensus on 32acp yet. The TRUTH used to be that Win Silvertips were the way to go. But now that there are five different pocket 32s, we are starting to see more offerings.

Some people say to go with hot ball ammo to maximize penetration. Fiocchi JHP seems to be the fastest JHP, with S&B coming in a close second, and Blazers are a close third.

Some people still use Silvertips. It is SAID that Silvertips are the most reliable expanders. (Although I haven't seen any proof of this.) Fiocchi also has a JHP that is pretty hot.

There are also the prefrag rounds available. I've seen prefrags like Magsafe ammo sold at most gun shows. Given the lack of penetration of the 32acp round, I am very leary of the prefrags in this caliber. And it is very expensive to function test!!!

If you want some info to mull over, go to: <A HREF="http://www.naaminis.com/vel32new.html]http://www.naaminis.com/vel32new.html[/URL" TARGET=_blank>