Berry's Plated Bullets

Aguila Blanca- thanks for the information, I use Berry bullets in several calibers and am always looking for good load data.

Good article. The writer may be late to the party. I've been loading plated bullets for years (I'm partial to X-treme; but Berry's are great too).

Because of plated bullets, I basically quit loading lead. Less messy at the load bench. No lube smoke at the range. Much much much easier firearm clean up.

Well worth the slight extra cost compared to straight lead.

I call Bull on this article. Over the last 26+ years (Speer #12 Copywrite 1994) Gold Dots, Unicores, etc. have been on the market and Lane Pierce (author) has loaded, tested, and commented them. They always were and have been PLATED bullets. He may not have used Berry's but he has written extensively on Speer Plated Products over the last 30 years.

I've been using West Coast / Accura / Xtreme since ~1991. Tried Rainiers and a couple others. Not all plated are the same as far as core hardness and plating thickness. Lee data is copied from a colaboration between Accurate Arms (pre Western) & Rainier. Shame is that Western took down AA's page on the data which inculded an explination on WHY they compiled the pressure tested load data. Rainier had some of the thinnest plating around.

If you believe this garbage don't load the 30 carbine bullets as they will go WAY past the 1500 fps for thick plated speed limit. Xtreme has tested that bullet to 2200 fps. If STAFF or anyone else wants to call me on this point they had better CALL Xtreme and ask them for themselves first. I've driven this bullet to over 2100 fps (chrono'ed) with accuracy comperable to FMJ.