Beginners Gun Advice

nidhoggr

Inactive
Hello,

I was wondering if you guys had any recommendations for a first timer? I have very little experience with any type of firearms. I have smaller hands and I'm a medium build. I was looking at .38 revolvers or 9mm pistols with a price range up to $500. I would primarily being using it for self-defense purposes eventually aiming for a concealed carry for the firearm. Any recommendations or assistance would be appreciated.

Welcome

Welcome! Boy are you asking for a confusing mess. Go to a gun show and/or a rental range. Put hands on lots, and reduce your list by what feels right. I would suggest something with adjustable sights, and if an automatic, something you can rack well. You don't need to go too small to conceal really. You can't really go too wrong with revolvers as an option. Revolvers make great 1st guns, but you might gain a disdain for autos if you start there and vice versa.

In that price range I would suggest a Witness Poly Carry. They can be had new less than $350. Someone will come along soon to suggest a S&W and someone else will come along and suggest things outside your price range.

If you are a lefty, I change my answer to Bersa Thunder UC Pro.

Welcome to the forum ! !

I would respectfully advise anyone, new to firearms, to delay chosing a particular gun until after they have some experience - because what's good for seasoned shooters may not be good for YOU.

There are a few options you can chose from to get some experience/trigger-time:

*Contact your state's Fish & Game Dept (or whatever it's called in your state), and enrol (free) in their Hunter Safety course, even if you don't intend to hunt.
The course will teach you about different type firearms, AND how to safely handle them, if not shoot with some, too.

*Contact a gun club in your area, or a gun club member - Most clubs will be happy to show someone the ropes.