Beginner questions

underhills

Inactive
I am just getting started in reloading and have a friend that has reloaded for years who is going to mentor me, but he doesn't cast any bullets himself. So here is what I'm dealing with and my questions. I am reloading .40 S&W for a Glock 23 with a factory barrel. I have shot Black Powder for 35 years (started when I was 10) so I have casting equipment, except a 10mm mold, and several hundred pounds of pure lead. I know the pure lead is to soft to use in a modern cartridge. How easy is it to add the alloy to make it harder or closer to wheel weight lead and is it worth my time? Will I experience to much leading with the factory barrel? A match barrel is in the works but right now I'd rather spend my money on putting rounds down range. If I decide to cast my own I will want to keep the smelting pots separate to keep the impurities out of my soft lead for my flintlock and I will have to make sure I don't get the two mixed up.
Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

You can still buy wheelweight ingots here and there, for about a buck-fifty shipped. I'd collect some of that and save your pure lead, iff'n it was me.:)

How easy is it to add the alloy to make it harder or closer to wheel weight lead and is it worth my time?
It is very easy to add Tin to pure lead to get it harder. However, finding a source for Tin is harder to find than lead itself. Wheel weights are considered a little too soft as cast and contain too little Tin to make good bullets. But, heat-treating wheel weight alloy will produce hard bullets without adding anymore Tin and if you run your pot at a high enough temperature, you can produce well-filled out bullets.
Pure lead, without any added Tin can be problematic in autos which usually require a little harder bullet. Last I checked, pure Tin was about $14.00 a pound and that was some years ago.