beginner: HK USP vs Beretta vs Glock17

Status
Not open for further replies.

hologon

I'm very new to this whole handgun shooting thing (300 rounds of 9mm, 100 rounds of .22, and maybe 20 rounds of .38spl), but I love it already.

I've shot 9mm in the Glock 17 and the Beretta Cougar, and to my dismay, I really didn't like the Glock's handling. Somehow my small hands and small frame (5'6", 140lbs) make it a pain to control -- not to mention the small slide stop never seems to catch right.

In particular, I don't like the grips. The recoil flip feels like it keeps jumping out of my hands, especially when they're sweaty. (Probably in the order of 30deg of flip... way too much.)

I also seem to limp wrist it. Ugh.

Then I shot the Beretta Cougar with their revolving barrel trick. My, what a difference! The grips feel better, the recoil is much more controlled, and 50 rounds really was just plain fun. It's a pussycat gun and it feels almost like a .22 to me. Almost no recoil flip, and my hands don't hurt.

So I handled the USP 9mm -- wow! What a joy! Everything else balances perfectly -- kind of just sits right. Almost as nice as the sig 226 (but the 226 also is $150 more). The problem is that my local range doesn't have one to rent, and being in NJ, I don't have much choice (i.e. the next closest range with rentals is something like 1.5 hrs away).

So my question is this: How is the actual shooting handling of the USP 9 vs the Glock and the Beretta?

Some people here say that the recoil is similar to the Glock and the trigger is really bad, but I dry-fired the USP, Glock, and P226 at the store, and the glock had a creepy trigger, the 226 had a gritty one, and the USP had the only long-draw clean-break one (these were all new).

Is that true while firing, or is it a different story?

Thanks!

-jon

I have a 40 USP compact that I love. Memebers of SEAL team 1 that I know love them too. Very accurate and about the toughest production gun around. Go for it.

Ben