beginner gun for IDPA?

grngables

Inactive
I'm interested in purchasing a gun for IDPA and general target shooting. I do not own a handgun yet. I checked out the SA xd line, and the Sig classic full size line, both fit my hand well. Any recommendations would be appreciated since I have no experience in IDPA or with a previous handgun.

Which or what

Ever you purchase, 9MM or larger has a classification in which you can shoot. Need a good holster, substantual belt, two mag' pouches and 4/5 mag's and about 150 rounds of decent ammo. Go, let them know you are new and have fun. Be safe, take your time and learn. Get some 7 and 10 yard practice, if you can, prior to a match and get very familular with your handgun, finger out of trigger until on target and ready to fire. Welcome aboard.

Last edited:
I shoot and enjoy the CZ 75B (mine are 9mm). I have several and find that each one of them shot dead on right out of the box. I also find, as many others have, that the ergonomics of the gun make it very comfortable to point. The additional advantage is that it does NOT have a decocker so the gun can be shot in SSP and ESP divisions.

The most popular handgun in IDPA is either the Glock 34 or a 1911 variant (or rather, all of them added together). Of these two, the Glock is a better choice for a first-time shooter. Your goal for now should be to find someplace to rent or borrow a variety of guns to shoot to try them out.

The XD is a bad idea since it will be classed in ESP as it is considered single action. Nothing against the XD but running with 9mm 1911's can be hard. IDPA kinda shanked that gun with the rules IMHO.

It's really hard to neat a Glock or 1911 for IDPA, but the CZ and SIG also work well. Look at the rulebook and tailor the gun to the division(s) you wish to shoot.

Hmmm, previous threads have apparently not been sufficiently informative.
OK, I will be blunt.