Bear hunting advice!

TheGunslinger

Going for a black bear soon and need any advice you experinced bear hunters can throw at me (or good websites?). I'll be in north west Oregon on some private property where there is known bear activity.
What would be the best gun to use I have-or have access to: scoped 7mm, 12ga, scoped 30-06, mod. 94 winchester in 44mag, Mosin in 7.62X54, I'm guessing the 7mm would be best, but I'm a total newbie to bear hunting too.
Any other advice would be greatly appreciated too.
Thanks

Well, I'm no bear hunter "expert". Did it once in Canada over feeders and posted about it here. I give you real high marks for a stalk hunt.

You said "I have or have access to...". For my money, I'd much rather kill with my own weapons....I get to keep the gun and it serves as a point of personal honor and remembrance for the game that I took.

You also assume the 7mm would be best....if that's the case, that's the gun (you like it and you're comfortable with it). All of the weapons you mentioned will do this job quickly and handily if properly placed (I have reason to believe you've got that base covered).

I'd ask these additional questions:
What terrain/ranges?
Most important. since it's a stalk, which gun are you most comfortable humping for 10 miles? For my money that'd be the Model 94, but depending on range/skill that may not be the perfect option.

Scoped? Again, range and terrain matters enormously.

More input for us all, please.
Rich