Basic Safety Course.............

Bob Wright

Years ago I was a certified firearms instructor by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, though haven't kept that current in many years. I have had occasion to teach many folks over the years. One of my first classes of instruction was to display as many types of firearms as I could, handguns, rifles, and shotguns. Shotguns were the most likely to be handled by my students as they were involved in Hunter Safety too at the time.

I stressed the point that they should be familiar with all types of actions and how to be certain each was to be cleared. At the time even had one of those old Winchester shotguns where the barrel was knurled near the muzzle for opening the breech.

I stressed the point that if a man didn't know how to clear a gun, to leave it alone. And if one was to be around guns, of any type, he should be able to ascertain that it was indeed clear.

Since childhood this has been my practice, and on two occasions that I recall familiarity with the gun prevented any mishap. Even today, every time I pick up my own gun that has been out of my possession or sight for any time, I clear it. Been a good practice.

Bob Wright

Agreed, absolutely.
I have two friends who know guns and who have shot their own furniture thinking their own handguns were unloaded. I have another friend, not so accustomed to guns, who came close to shooting his own foot handling one of my handguns without checking to see whether it was loaded. No one injured, other than pride, in any of those cases.
I credit these three friends with helping me remember gun safety in general. I think about them every time I pick up a gun. I clear it and otherwise handle it with their experiences in mind.

I am certified to teach the NRA Home Firearm Safety course and that is a major emphasis of the class. It is all about how to handle guns safely and unload/clear them. Bringing the widest variety of types as examples is critical.