Barrel Length Question

• Thread starter Thread starter DeakonG
  • Start date Start date
D

DeakonG

It looks like a .357 is in my future...

OK...(bracing for shock)...

What does everyone here think is a better choice in barrel length???...4" or 6"...also, as a side note...which frame size???

Uses will be limited to range stuff (no, I'm not a bullseye expert, however I do like to pretend every once in a while)and for open carrying when hiking and camping out in the desert...price wise, I can't afford much over $400...if I could, believe me, I'd be doing my damndest to get my hands on a S&W .45 ACP...

please...let the advice begin...

G

[Edited by DeakonG on 05-24-2001 at 03:24 PM]

For all around general purpose use, concealed carry, plinking/target, home protection, etc., it's really hard to beat the 4".

As for the gun, if you scout around gunshows, you should easily find many new and used guns.

A couple of choices for you on the used market:

Smith & Wesson, 13, 19, 65, 66.

Ruger, GP-100, Security Six, Speed Six.

In the new market, you should be able to find guns by Rossi, Taurus, and Ruger all under $400.

Of those three, my choice would be Ruger first, Taurus 2nd, and Rossi 3rd.

Mike...

assuming absolutely no chance for CCW still go 4"???...I was under the impression that the .357 was at its best outta a 6"...

G

Yeah, I'd still go 4".

You really don't lose that much with a 4".

You also generally get better balance and handling with a 4".

I LIKE BIG!

I'd go with the 6"...but then again, my favorite open carry piece is a 586 with an 8 3/8" barrel.

4" S&W Model 19 or the Ruger Security Six. See if any police turn-ins are still available in your area, or order one from KY Imports.
GP100's and 686's are just heavy enough to be a drag when out hiking; same for 6" barrels. Shoot mostly 38 Special's at the range, with just enough Magnums to zero your sights for carry while hiking and a Model 19 will last a long time and be pleasant to shoot.