Barrel ID thread

vmabuck

Inactive
Since I have a lot of these to ID I thought one thread to show them all would be the best idea.

I appreciate any info on these parts I can get. I am just getting into these older Mil weapons. Any suggestions on online resources or books I could get to help me educate myself would great!

This is the first. Most of these will be for Mauser actions since the guy who had them before was heavily into sporting out Mausers.

2ev3y86.jpg

11uhhz6.jpg

2znqohc.jpg

28u6aok.jpg

given the haphazard nature of the markings and the plethora of stars and triangle marks, I am going to make a guess that they are for something of russian construct. they do not look like the barrels of mosin nagants though, possibly SVT 40s?

have to slugged one of them to see what diameter the bore is? that would go a long way toward at least guessing the caliber and narrowing down the list of suspects. for all I know it's an 11MM Murata.

Looks like a Yugo 8mm Mauser barrel, There were thousands imported here along with Model 48s and 24/47s.

I will have to go find some rounds to throw down the barrel.

I should probably just get a handful of rounds to size out these barrels. Or is there a tool I can buy that will do this?

@VMABUCK- What do you intend to do with them? Given how you came upon them I am assuming they are no longer good barrels. If your just curious what rifle they came from then you can measure the OD of the threads with caliper and get a pretty good idea.
.980 (+.005-.010") is a small ring mauser
1.100 (+.005-.010) is a large ring mauser like a 98, both would have 12 threads per inch.

As far as I am told these are all good barrels. They came from a person who was into modification of these Mauser rifles into sporting rifles. He had piles of stocks, barrels, actions, reloading equipment and tooling.