Barrel harmonics

velocette

Sunday, at the range where I am a part time range officer, I was helping a new shooter with his "sniper rifle" It was a Remmy 700 chambered in 300 Win Mag. medium heavy barrel in an expensive aluminum frame / stock with a suppressor.
Using a bipod, he was getting erratic groups of about 4" at 100 yds.
A fellow range officer, an experienced F class competitor fired the rifle with similar results, very poor grouping. His ammo was of good quality, not match grade but good hunting grade, probably good for 1" at least @100 yds.
I was watching him and his rifle very carefully to learn what the problem was when I noticed that the barrel / suppressor was violently vibrating up & down about an inch & a half with each shot, diminishing quickly in perhaps 1/4 second. YES, clearly visibly shaking up & down with each shot. Action screws were tight, barrel was free floated. We removed the can & then he proceeded to put three rounds through the same hole @ 100 yds with no visible vibration.
It appears that the weight of the can (about 2 1/2 lbs, it was a steel can) gave the barrel the wrong weight & resulted in the harmonic shaking we observed. The can was attached to the barrel with a quick release screw on type mount & felt to be tight.
Learn something new every day, and this was really something new. I have seen high speed photography of rifle barrels vibrating, but never anything close to this.

As long as no bullets bump the supressor can's internals on their way out and the can's correctly fit to a decently fitted barreled action in the stock, the barrel will whip at the same frequency for every shot fired. It's about the most repeatable thing in the system. A heavy weight on the muzzle can easily make it more visible, especially with skinny barrels.