Assembling an AR-15

shamster

I am most likely gonna buy a Bushmaster AR-15 lower receiver from my FFL dealer, and order the rest (complete upper, mags, etc) from Bushmaster directly. That way, there is money saved (cheaper Federal Excise Tax), and easier for me to bring home (my parents will freak if they see me bring a complete "assault rifle" home).
Anyway, I have zero experience with AR-15's. Are they easy to put together? And after I assemble it at home, will they be as accurate and reliable as if I bought a complete AR? Any gunsmithing or special fitting required?

If your childhood included Lego bricks, you can put an AR together. Go to http://www.ar15.com for instructions on how to assemble one and for the tools (you'll need a barrel vise or upper receiver vise, torque wrench, barrel nut tool, some roll pin punches, etc.).

About the only thing you won't be able to do is adjust headspace. To a limited extent, tightening down the barrel or loosening it (so long as it remains within the torque specs) will help, but most of the time to adjust headspace you try a different bolt.

It'll should take an hour to assemble either the upper or the lower. Be sure to function check along the way. It's also a lot of fun.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

Actually, I doubt I'll even need that many tools. The upper comes completely assembled, and the lower too. Hopefully, all I have to do is snap the two together.

If the lower is also completely assembled, yes, all you have to do is put them together and slip in the push-pins.

If the lower is not fully assembled, it's not much more complicated. Certainly check out www.ar15.com for particulars.