Armson OEG sight

OK Computer

Hi... I'm trying to choose a very rugged, yet simple optical sight that will allow easy shooting in CQB low light conditions. I've come to consider the Armson OEG, mainly because it is inexpensive & looks like a pretty solid sight. However, I have heard some things like "wandering dot" what exactly does this mean??? I know you need good binocular vision for it to work, and i have perfect 20/20. Would this sight be a good choice? Most shots will be well under 100yrds, as anything over that will be left to the iron sights.

-OK Computer

I'm far from an expert in the OEG field. I have had nothing but bad luck. I used several in the Marines for CQB and we ended up breaking almost every one we tried. Although Marines are not easy on gear, we were far from abuseing these OEG's.
Unfortunaly we never found a good sight while I was in. I would wait to hear from someone who has had more experience with other types of sights. Maybe a laser type sight or some type of low power ACOG or an Aimpoint.
Maybe the technology has gotten better in the last few years but I would hate to see you waste money on a sight that might fail you after some rough shooting. It is very easy to bang a weapon around during low light CQB.
Good luck.

------------------
"Some people spend an entire liftime wondering if they made a difference. Marines don't have that problem."
Semper Fi

[This message has been edited by DannyO (edited March 30, 2000).]

I bought one a couple of years ago and never could get the thing to work right.

The wandering dot comes when you fail to concentrate on your target and instead focus on the aiming dot. It starts dancing all over the place and doesn't stop until you tear your eyes away, blink, and stare at the
target again.

In theory it works best when you are taking snap shots. Once you try for precise placement, the dot starts wandering and it all falls apart.

OK Computer

bruels described the wandering dot perfectly.