Are gun owners more intelligent?

snubber

Inactive
After reading the dialog on this board, one could come to the conclusion that gun owners are intelligent people, perhaps being persons above the average. Let me clarify that though-- legal gun owners; there are some pretty dumb felons out there packing heat. Perhaps having a gun presents a little more to the owner allowing them to become more informed along with expanding their horizons. And I'd like to think I have an objective opinion because I'm relatively new to guns in a way (I don't even own a firearm.)

Snubber;Welcome to the best forum that I have found.You are fortunate because there is much wisdom here.Everybody here started without a gun so dont feel alone.

------------------
Better days to be,

Ed

Welcome to firing line!! I feel U are right legal gun owners are some of the most intellegent, self motivated people on the planet. As for your lack of firearms situation I think it is cool that U show interest in firearms. Have U considered one? Let me know
Later
Daren

Huh … duh…….. what was the question ? … anybody know where I left my gun?

Sorry

Just kidding; couldn’t resist :)

Ha! Well, snubber, you sure know how to start off on the right foot! ;)

Agreed on the felons - have to be a dumb loser to use a gun for crime. And, to own a gun as an honest, responsible citizen one needs to (1) have a good grasp of the law, (2) jump through some legal hoops (forms 4473, CCW permits / training sometimes, etc. ...), (3) learn to diplomatically discuss the subject with the uninitiated, (4) study the choices of firearms, as well as their specific uses and characteristics, and (5) train and practice so to become proficient with your chosen firearm(s).

I find pro-self defense people to be very sharp, and comfortable with taking personal responsibility for their actions and their lives. And, that responsibility part may be the 'smartest' litmus test of all.