AR-15s

Dave AA

I'm new to rifles, or I should say the legalities of rifles, And I think I'm going to build an AR-15. Now let me see if I've got this straight, I can use post-ban parts on a pre-ban or post ban lower reciever, but I can only use pre-ban parts on a pre-ban lower reciever? Are there any compatibilty problems? I would like to build a standard A2, and maybe convert it to M-4 spec. later. Thanks!

I actually typed a long answer to your post but it got lost in an "Internal Server Error" and I just can't make myself do it again.

Go to www.ar15.com and check out the legal stuff. If that doesn't discourage you then you probably SHOULD build one. They can answer your questions better anyway!

Mikey

That's where I got the info that convinced me to build my own, but I was curious about mixing pre-ban and post-ban parts. ;) Also, anyone have experince with diff. manufacturers (bushmaster, armalite)? do the finishes match? Thanks!

you can't build a preban configured gun from a preban stripped lower
there are no preban lower parts, except for the collapsable stock

if you own a preban rifle you could attach another upper with a bayonet lug & FS
http://jpar15.com/customer.htm

CRIME BILL NOTICE

On 9/14/94 we were advised by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco &
Firearms that the Crime Bill does not allow any lower receiver to
be completed into an "assault rifle" as it is defined in the Bill. It
does not matter when the lower receiver was manufactured, only
when it was assembled as part of a complete rifle. In other words,
you cannot buy a so-called "pre-ban lower" and assemble it into a
rifle that meets the definition of an "assault rifle" as described in
the Crime Bill.

After September 14, 1994, no lower receiver can be completed to
form a "semi-automatic" rifle that has an ability to accept a
detachable magazine and has two or more of the following
features:

A.a pistol grip that protrudes conspicuously
beneath the action of the weapon