AR-15 cleaning methods

rock_jock

Another question on my AR-15. As a newbie, I'll probably have a lot of them in the near future. I hope you guys don't get tired of me asking.

Anyway, the question is, the Marine Corps and Army manuals make reference to "CLP", which I interpret as an all-in-one cleaning and lubricating solution. Right now, I generally use a three- or even four-step process for my other guns, consisting of removing fouling and deposits with something like Hoppe's No. 9, then spraying the action and frame with Gun Scrubber (essentially just a good chlorinated solvent), then applying either Hoppe's oil or Remington spray-on oil to proper places, and finally applying a light coat of WD-40 to the outside for rust prevention and to keep them looking shiny. This is a rather tedious process, which I don't mind doing for my other long guns and handguns, but recognize that it may not be efficient for my AR-15. Are there any suggestions on cleaning? Should I use a CLP-type cleaner, and, if so, what are some brand names? Also, will I need any special tools for cleaning?

Thanks.

BTW, I went out and bought the Marine Corps manual on the AR-15 for $13 and found it a little hard to follow (not very straightforward). Yesterday, I downloaded for free the Army manual off the www.AR-15.com website and found this to be much more helpful - the illustrations were very good, especially on disassembly.

breakfree is a commercial CLP
if you use other products there maybe interactions and gunkification
the military recommends it cause it works

KISS
;)

dZ

I don't know too much about cleaning the AR-15 but would recommend staying away from WD-40. Heard lots of people complaining of it gunking up on the gun.

clp is cleaner lubricant preservative
wd 40 is water displacement-40, its different
clp in the civilian form is either triflow or break free...both are fine
strip your weapon...lube it bore and all.. let it sit