Anyone use .30 150 Nosler Ballistic tip?

MLC

When I cleaned my deer I found that this bullet bored an enormous hole through the shoulder meat. Two fingers fit easily through the wound channel. It also blew through two ribs on the entrance side at a 45 degree angle through the aorta and out through another rib. Excellent penetration but rough on the meat.
I am new to seeing what a bullet does to tissue, is this about on par with most bullets. I don't intend to keep ruining meat so if there is a better bullet I'll try it. I foolishly bought 50 bullets for reloading before trying them out. I though perhaps if I loaded them to a lower velocity I'd have less meat loss. My shots will be less than 200 yards as a rule.

You'd probably be better off posting this to the gurus over at the Handloading section, but here goes -

Softer tip + low velocity = big exit wound (meat loss)

Under 200yd or so, go for a heavy bullet with higher velocity (within safe specs, of course). You playin with a 30-06 or 308? If so, maybe try the 185-200gr soft flat (or hollow) point, like the ones available through Hornady, loaded to around 2500fps for a starting point (depending upon your cartridge).

At less than 200yd, don't worry about needing spire points for accuracy. There's not too much fall or resistance on a 30cal at less than 200yd.

I used 150 ballistic tip in 18" barrel .308 win for 10 years on local small blacktails. The sure do leave big hole, they ruin meat at 2700fps up but they penetrate adaquately and stop the light game quick. Also they seem very accurate and hold velocity like 165 grain .30s do. I think they are ultimate .30 antipersonnel round up to say 500 yds! Try nosler partitions in 150 if your rifle is sighted in for this weight they are less destructive to meat and even more reliable. If you are using magnum cartridge or hot 3006 use 180 or heavier premium bullet or Barnes X-bullet .