Anyone own a Mosin Nagant?

potcha

Inactive
Hello everyone. I am pretty new to the world of firearms, just got my first one two weeks ago. Wanted to get something for home defense and ended up with a Sig Sauer SP2022 in .40 caliber and am extremely happy with it.

I had been looking at some surplus rifles recently and landed on a deal that almost seemed too good to be true. I had looked at Mosin Nagants before but found it here http://www.aimsurplus.com/product.aspx?groupid=256&name=Russian+1891/30+7.62x54R+Mosin+Nagant+Rifles for $70.00.

My question is, how are these rifles? Assuming I used the hand pick option for an extra 10 dollars and was able to get one in good condition, what should I expect? Are they accurate? Is it sufficient for hunting small to medium game? Why are these so cheap?

Thanks in advance :D

Most of those being sold were arsenal refinished so they should be in pretty good shape. I think you could pretty much hunt a lot of North American game with them. Will not be a macth rifle but the accuracy will be plenty good enough to hunt with.

They're sturdy old guns and at the moment are cheap (and fun) to shoot. They aren't terribly accurate or pleasant to look at, but then again, neither am I. I want one.

For the price, they're awesome guns. The ammo is cheap, and they're reasonably accurate. A whole lot of fun for $70 or $80. Go for it.

This has to be the most discussed rifle on this section of the Forum. I do not own one and have no plans for one. This is not to condemn the rifle, but surplus military rifles do not appeal to me. There are too many good hunting rifles with great accuracy on the used market for under 3 to 4 hundred dollars, and many with either scope or at least rings already mounted.

Past discussions seem to reflect folks who hate Mosins and those who love them. Most of the lovers like the cheap price and the cheap ammo. This seems to be what caught your eye.