Anyone from CANADA who could help me out?.........

Misko

Inactive
I am new to this board, I always had secret admiration for firearms, and everything related to firearms. I don't own a gun or anything like that, but I was thinking about starting my own collection.
Here's what I need to know:
1.Where do I get the info on CANADIAN gun laws?
2.I always wanted to become a member of a good shooting range club, and learn as much as possible about all kinds of firearms especially handguns etc. Any ideas? where do I go? what do I do?????

Any other info or suggestions people? I would really appreciate any feedback from you people.
I am new to this whole thing and more than ready to learn.

THANX

Misko,

I recently moved from Canada to the USA because of the extremely prohibitive gun laws there. It sounds like you are residing in Canada, so I'll give a brief summary. For detailed info, see the following URL: http://www.cfc-ccaf.gc.ca/Training/Desk%20Manuals/FAOM/main_table_en.html
The above is the Canadian Firearms Officer's Desk Manual Online.

Rifles/shotguns: you must first obtain an 'FAC' (Firearms Acquisition Certificate). This involves taking a gun safety written test (multiple choice), being interviewed by the local police dept, and paying a fee (around $150 at last check). You may then own/transport longarms.

Restricted Firearms:
1) all handguns which are not prohibited firearms;
2) semi-automatic centre-fire rifles and shotguns that have a barrel length less than 470 mm and that have not been made prohibited;
3) rifles and shotguns that can fire after being reduced to an overall length of less than 660 mm, by any temporary means such as folding or telescoping; and
4) all firearms that the Governor in Council classifies as restricted in the regulations. These firearms are listed in Appendix 2-2 Part 2.