Anyone else do it backwards?

osbornk

I started shooting handguns with semi-automatics. Early on, I had a revolver but I shot it single action because I was more accurate that way. I wasn't ever a bad shot but I shot single actions better (1911, Ruger Mark III, etc). I shot my little bitty Taurus TCP worse than any of them.

A year or so ago, I bought a DAO (called hammerless) snub nose 357 revolver. I didn't shoot it very well so I bought a DA/SA 22 revolver to learn how to shoot the DAO revolver. I was told that if I could shoot a DA revolver accurately, I could shoot anything.

After shooting a few thousand rounds through my Charter Arms SA/DA revolver, I found that I could shoot the 357 DAO snub nose revolver pretty well. I bought a Taurus Spectrum to replace the TCP since I shot it poorly. I was pretty accurate with the Spectrum and thought it was the gun. Then I got out the TCP I had shot poorly and ran a magazine or two through it. I shot it pretty well and almost as well as my new Spectrum. The only difference between when I shot the TCP poorly and the TCP fairly well is my practice with the DA revolver.

I then went and got my other handguns (a couple of 380s, a couple of 9mms, a 38 special, 357 and a few 22s). I think shooting the little 22 DA has made me a better shot with all of them.

I also found that 22 caliber revolvers that at SA/DA are expensive when compared with many 38 special and some 357.