Anybody taken apart a Tokarev TT?

BobbyT

Beyond a field strip, that is...I was popping the extractors out of my surplus pistols to clean the grime out, but on my TTC the pin refuses to budge.

I'm sure I'm using the right size punch, and I've whacked it pretty hard, but don't want to go all out on it for fear of missing/gouging/etc.

Has anyone else had this issue, or is there something I'm doing wrong here?

What's the 't' for, taper?

I'm trying to tap it out from the bottom/inside of the slide, through the top. It's slightly recessed inside the slide by the firing pin channel, and sticking out the top of the slide slightly.

I gave it a tap or two from the top of the slide, but I really doubt that's the direction it's supposed to go because there's no real way to hit the pin without slipping off and gouging the slide (I'm no expert so I could be wrong...).

The pin is driven out from the bottom of the slide. They usually are not very tight, but could be rusted in place. The pin is friction fit, not tapered. The extractor pulls straight forward; don't try to pry it out. Be careful not to lose the spring; there is no plunger.

Ordinarily, I don't recommend removal of extractors of that type unless something needs replaced; a spray penetrant will take care of most cleaning needs.

Jim

Well when I got it I just did the usual field strip to get out the remaining cosmoline crud.

I popped out the extractors on my CZ-52 and CZ-82 and they had a bit of gunk on them; maybe I'm being OCD but I just figured I'd get everything nice and clean.

I didn't think they'd be tapered but I gave the thing several very hard whacks and it doesn't seem like I've budged it. The gun isn't pristine, but it's certainly not in any kind of bad shape. I was able to get out the bigger pin that runs the width of the slide (and cuts through the firing pin channel) without much trouble.