Any small handgun shooters in IDPA?

9mm1033

I'm new to IDPA so I started with my 5" XD Tactical. I've noticed many other shooters are using long barrel auto's as well. I'm going to try my SigSauer P229. It seems better fit for conceal carry. I was wondering, does anyone else uses a small/short barrel auto?

While I shoot a full size Government Model when I want the best score, I will shoot the compact guns occasionaly for the practice. The smallest pistol I have seen in regular use is the Glock 19... if you don't count the very senior FBI agent with his Detective Special.

Ditto. I shoot all-steel, 5" guns when I'm trying to win. I shot the last match with a Lightweight Commander, and shot the entire '05 season with my Detonics Combat Master. The Commander wasn't much of an impediment, but a short gun with reduced capacity is another story. Still, I didn't really know either gun very well until using them under match conditions. Anyone who packs should shoot some matches with their carry gun(s).

Glock 19. I have seen 26s and 27s. I've shot my 26 at times.

I've also shot my SW 642. Saw a guy with a CZ Raimi once.

It's an interesting philosophical question. Shoot a carry sized gun vs. an extended one.

I see lots of G19 sized - XD similar size and 1911s. I also shoot my SW 1911 Sc commander. But that's a touch big for hot weather CCW

It's an interesting philosophical question. Shoot a carry sized gun vs. an extended one.

I agree. I thought IDPA was designed for defensive training purposes. But, it is a game and many use their "game guns" from what I'm seeing. I'm not cutting down the sport, I really enjoy shooting the stages. But, I think I'll try my compact auto and see how well she performs. I'm not competitive with the young guns anyway, my eyes are old and I'm a senior shooter.