Another T/C Contender question

triker

I just purchased a SS Contender, super 14. It has pachmyr forearm with one screw about in middle. Has something else holding it towards muzzle end of forearm. Does the forearm slide forward, or snap off a stationary post in the front? I am a newbie to these so someone please help me out here. Would like to get the barrel off. thanks triker

Removal of the screw should let the forearm come off. Then just push the pivot pin out and open the action to remove the barrel. I have some aftermarket pins on mine that require a wooden drift in order to remove them, the factory pin should just slide out though.

Remove forend, open action and push pin out

Then just push the pivot pin out and open the action to remove the barrel.
Guv , I think you meant to say to open the action after removing the forend and then push the hinge pin out. .... ;)

Be Safe !!!

My problem is getting the forearm off after removing the screw. There is another pin or something close to front of forearm I can see in there that either the forearm has to slide forward or it snaps off a pin. I need to know which before I go ramming anything. Maybe explaining better, there is a screw and also a hidden pin in the forearm and I need to know how the forearm comes off the hidden pin. All instructions I have seen show 2 screws on the super 14's, but mine has aftermarket (I guess) packmyr forearm and only one screw shows with the other screw hole hidden and holding forearm on somehow. thanks triker

Last edited:
Oops, you have a Pachmayr !!!

My opologies as I forgot that you mentioned you had a Pachmayr Decelerator forend. They have their own special way that is suppose to make it easier to change barrels, once you work with one. Unfortunately, I have not. Perhaps someone can chine in and provide greater assist. All else fails, contact them at;

Consumer & Dealer Sales and Service
800-225-9626
800-423-9704
860-632-2020

Be Safe !!!