Another lead casting question.

Gster

I didn't want to highjack GregInAtls' thread so I thought I'd ask this also.
I'm just getting into casting my own also and haven't really started because it's been so freaking cold outside. I don't have a garage or out building to do it in. I live in a 1 1/2 story log home without a basement. There is a large loft on the second floor but I do have a work shop off the end of the loft that is approx. 12'X14'. The only problem with doing in there is.. My propane furnace is in that room also and it gets some of it's return air from that room. I don't want lead fumes pushed through the house through the air ducts. What I am proposing to do is mount a range hood over the work bench and vent it out with the exhaust from the forced air furnace exhaust. What are everyones thoughts on this idea? will it work?

I wish that I had your trouble with casting... (log home).
Can you vent to the out-doors with an exhaust fan ?, such
as through a window.

I do crazy a** stuff, but I would avoid casting in my house.

Yeah, I'd be in big time trouble if I fed my casting smoke/smells through out the house. Venting the smoke outdoors is a good idea and using a full hood set up sounds excellent (fumes/vapors usually come about at higher temps. than what is used for making boolits). I can't see a downside...

Piping it thru the furnace exhaust vent is not advisable. You will be setting yourself for some carbon monoxide issues if you breach the furnace vent by allowing a path for the gasses to back flow into the room.

Yeh, I better not mess with the furnace vent. I can make an insert to shut the window on with a 4" hole cut in it to hook the vent pipe to. I didn't want to cut another hole in the house to vent it out. Thanks.