Ammo Help

AlphaHunter88

I've been shooting and hunting for most of my near 30 years on this earth, but I'm a first time muzzleloader owner. Had one given to me in a trade for an old Jon boat. CVA Mag Hunter .50 Cal bolt-action. She cleaned up nicely and I've done my research on cleaning, loading, care, etc. I'm planning on deer hunting with this rifle and I'm planning on using .45 with sabots. I'm thinking of going Hornady SST but I'm not sure if I should go with 250gr or 300gr. I'll be using IMR Whitehots propellant with Winchester Triple Se7en primers. Is this a good load or should I look at something else?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. I'm a complete novice at muzzleloading and would like to be pointed in the right direction. I'll be hunting at ranges from 20-120 yards roughly and I'm wanting to be educated about deer loads for an inline .50 Cal. Should I use 100 or 150 gr of pellets? Powerbelt, sabots, or round ball? Also what range of bullet weights would be most effective on whitetail sized game at my hunting range?

I don't know jack about loading for an inline but like anything else you're going to have to do some experimenting to find what works best.

You might have more luck on the Hunting forum. There's more traditional Flint and Cap & Ball experience here than inline experience.

Inlines are certainly a different breed, however they are still a muzzleloader and share most dynamics.

I have a caplock in .50 cal that has a 1:48" twist. Because of this I can't shoot too long of a bullet. However my rifle does extremely well at 50 yds (the furthest I tried so far) with a 320 grn conical boolit. This isn't that short.

To begin with you'll need to know the twist rate. The faster it is the longer the bullet it will stabilize.