Aimed point shooting / P&S method....

I read this article the other day and thought it made sense, at least to this newbie. The article: "AIMED Point Shooting or P&S For Self Defense" is located at:

http://www.pointshooting.com/ps.htm

What does anyone here think about this method overall? Is it stupid? Is it a good idea? Could it be a beneficial addition to the way someone practices? Do you use it at all in your range practice? Would this be a good method to practice self-defense shooting? So many questions.... :rolleyes:

I was considering adding it to my practice sessions at the range. Maybe only 5 or 10 rounds using the P&S method. And the rest of the time using the "regular" standard method (index finger on trigger, etc).

Any input would be beneficial. Thanks in advance!

I'm no expert... But I'd say no, this is not the greatest of ideas. Common sense is telling me my barrel may not always be pointed in the exact direction of my finger... pullin the trigger may send a round in a direction other than the intended... Not a good thing.

FRONT SIGHT! It's working for me... slowly but surely.

I am no expert on this method, but I just read over the linked article a bit, then did an experiement with my revolver. It didn't appear to work for me. I pointed right at a wall socket with my finger, then held and looked at the sights - it looks like I am pointing high and to the left with the gun. My index finger is about 1&1/2" - 2" below the gun barrel and maybe 1/2" to the right. I think that's where the discrepancy comes from.

Also, my two smallest fingers and thumb don't grip the heavy gun very securely when my index and middle fingers are occupied elsewhere. I guess you can always try it at the range to see what results look like on paper, anyway.