Aggrevating. Just...aggrevating.

SaxonPig

Four rounds into one, elongated hole. Then the 5th is out there, baby.

standard.jpg

This is the rifle.

standard.jpg

And that is why some folks pay as much for rimfire ammo as others do for centerfire. Anything to keep the dreaded flyer from screwing up the groups.

Jimro

I'm smiling. Not too long ago I shot a near perfect 4 shot group. I had the 5th round in my hand, but finally decided that the Range Troll probably would cause that 5th round to be out of the group (like he's done so many times before), so I took the wise approach and left it at 4. I just couldn't risk messing up something that lovely.

Had that happen at the last cmp shoot. I had all my sighters inside the 8 ring and then when I started shooting for score they all started stringing out to the 6 and 7 rings

I find things tend to stay tighter, if I dont look into the spotting scope, until after the last round is fired. ;)

That is part of the "fun" of shooting. I tend to get upset that I pulled a shot so I try again, and again and again. Its some sort of viral infection developed by ammo companies. :)

I feel your pain. I had the same thing happen to me on Friday while out shooting.

The good news is that I was doing load work ups, and I am pretty sure I found the load seeing as the flyer was 100% my fault for pulling it.

That flyer has been the Rifleman's Curse for a long time. E.B. Mann wrote of it in his book, "The Bullet's Flight From Powder To Target", back in the 1890s.

Any shooter who is on the range long enough to have to go to the restroom has seen this, probably many times. The real pain is if your rifle, or you, makes this happen with most every group.