AFFORDABLE gear

shimmy1000

Inactive
I am planning on going to my first USPSA event soon. I have read threads where guys showed up just to watch and regretted not bringing their gear so I'd like to avoid this mistake. I am a police officer so the only mag pouches I have are high gloss with a button snap. (not very usefull) However, I don't want to go out and drop a ton of cash before my first shoot. (although I KNOW I will love it) Are there some cheap alternatives for a belt clip ammo pouch? I like the comp-tac single mag holders but they are $25 each and if I need about four mags that's more than I want to spend initially. Also need suggestions on an affordable holster. (I don't think a high gloss retention holster of any sort would help either.) I don't particularly want to show up with duty gear and look like a goober out there. (any more than I have to)

Thanks!

JW

Just show up with your duty gear. Lots of LEO's do it their first time or contine to do it just for the practice. You actually look a lot cooler than the guy that shows up with the WW2 army surplus gear. Also the other LEO's will probably come by and say "what's up"

For inexpensive look at uncle mikes. I would hold off and shoot a few matches with your duty gear. To be honest the first few times out the gear is not going to be what holds you back. It's going to be the framilarity of the game, rules, and strategies.

I've seen LEO's use their duty gear. IIRC, the rules state you have to wear all the gear, i.e., handcuff case, mace, walkie holder, etc. Obviously, it is not built for speed, but you will get a feel for the course design and the different ways to shoot a stage. What kind of handgun will you be using?

I would not worry about wearing all your gear. Not at the local match level. I don't remember any such rule either but I may be wrong.

Wear your duty gear. I would think a day's practice actually shooting and reloading out of it would outweigh the risk of looking like a goober.

My gun