About Barrel Length vs Velocity

3006loader

It seems to be common knowledge that a longer barrel gives more velocity than a shorter barrel. But is there a point where a barrel can be so ridiculously long that it would actually reduce velocity because of the friction on the bullet's bearing surface? Does anyone know what this barrel length would be for a given caliber? I searched the interwebs but I couldn't find anything that didn't have to do with "the great barrel length debate," which in regards to this question I couldn't care less about. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

I'd think and I'm by no means an expert . It would really depend on the caliber , bullet , powder burn rate , charge and barrel length . Example : I've seen lately guys shooting/loading reduced 223 loads using what would be considered pistol powders . Now I truly have no specific knowledge on this but using the fastest burning powder you can in a rifle caliber with a very long barrel . You may see the bullet actually decelerate while still in the barrel .

Or maybe a pistol caliber with the fastest powder being shot from a long rifle barrel could do the same .

Interesting thought though . Maybe one of the guys with quickloads can play around and see if that can actually happen .

I've seen data for 22 rimfire ammo indicating that barrels of about 24" or longer will often be slower than shorter barrels. There are a lot of factors to consider and this is not always the case depending on the individual rifle and ammo used.