• Stoeger 3000

Votes: 1 3.3%
  • Browning Auto-5 Long Recoil

Votes: 2 6.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Gallade475

Inactive
So, i'm relatively new to shooting and want to have a shotgun of my own. I feel that I am capable of owning a firearm and dealing with all responsibilities that come with it, and it seems that the second amendment is not doing so well if recent legislature is anything to go by.

My budget is less than 550 dollars, most likely used, and it would be best to have interchangeable chokes, which has narrowed my search down to 4 main choices.

Remington 1100, Remington 11-87, Mossberg 930, and Stoeger 3000, and MAYBE an old browning A-5 if i'm lucky.

I would like to know the mechanical strengths and weaknesses of the guns, and reading manufacturer's sites and informative articles about their methods of operation can only provide so much. Thanks in advance.

Please elaborate on what your intended purpose is... that makes recommendations more tailored.

Home defense, hunting, skeet/trap, aesthetics, etc.? These aren't really interchangeable. Some are more suited for one vs. the other.

Personally, I like the 1100 with an extended tube mag for home defense. But the A5 is much better looking...

The Remington 1100/11-87s are practically the same gun; the 11-87 just adds 3" capability. You really need to handle and preferably shoot them before plunking down your money, because they will all work, but they all feel quite different in the hand.
The Browning is ugly as a rotted fence post to me - so that tells you where opinions are going to get you. And yes I did own one and have shot many, and I don't like the way they feel or shoot, either. The 1100 did not run it out of the marketplace for nothing.
Depending on what you want to do with the gun, you might want to add the Franchi Affinity and the Beretta Outlander to your list.