a new to me 91/30 mosin nagant, questions

shrewd

so i picked it up today at the gun show for 105, and it looks half decent. i've always enjoyed a good bit of wear on the gun, and the internals don't seem too bad (however soaked in cosmoline...yuck)

anywho i'm trying to avoid the usual slew of first timer questions, and i've read all the somewhat crazy seeming solutions to the cosmoline problems, many of which seem to involve lots of heat. my problem is that its pretty darn cold outside, and i don't exactly have a boiler room in the house to store the sucker. i was hoping to avoid completely taking the stock off and such (something i've never done before) but it seems that might be the only option.

i turn to you, dear knowledgeable friends, for advice

I bought a 91/59 that had been hanging on the wall at the gun shop for a long time. Not only was it drenched in cosmoline but all the dust from a long time on that wall made cleaning that rifle hell. I just broke it down, bolt and all and started cleaning everything. No lie, it took me almost 4 hours and almost a full bottle of #9. I was rewarded after all that work with an awesome mosin. Im sure there are faster ways but I got a great deal of satisfaction knowing I did all that with just a bottle of hoppes, some old rags, brushes and alot of elbow grease.

Just go to Walmart and get a gallon of "paint thinner" (100% mineral spirits). That will take case of the grease.

Yeah, clean it...That is the hardest part.

But that is why the guns survived this long. Protected! Our local fleet farm sells them for $99. On sale.... $89! A serious defense for low bucks.

http://www.surplusrifle.com/russianmosin189130/rifledisassembly/index.asp