A Bear of a Question

Young_Buck

Howdy folks as I have posted in Rifle Forum I am a new gun owner and I might have my shoioting coach convinced to take me hunting for black bear on Vancouver Island B.C. Now my question is with my Model 94 being my only gun where should I place the shot (both for ideal conditions and shot placement and for the not so ideal). I am shooting with remmington core lokt 170 grain rounds. I also don't know just how big i can expect the bears around here to be :confused: my research has shown me that males range from 130-660 pounds and that females range from 90-175 pounds. As you can tell I am new to hunting so new that if my coach does buy that bear tag it will be my first hunt so any advise is welcome. Thanks Folks

Last edited:
That must be a miniature version .In PA the biggest are over 800 lbs!! The 30-30 would do for the smaller ones .Shots should be to the heart/lung area or try to break the shoulder.Find drawings of the internals and be able to hit those areas from any direction.

My advice is look into the best 30-30 ammo on the market... If I were going to bear hunt with that gun I would also limit myself to less than 100 yards...just my thoughts on it.... as previous post said it's important to study the vital areas on photo's and diagrams before you go hunting.... BEST LUCK on your hunting trip :D It has been said thousands of times but I will again.... the 30-30 has likely taken more game animals in North America than any other rifle....maybe more than 2-3 cartridges combined........ Just know that the 30-30 has limits and you will do fine... :D

In the future you might want to save up and get a little more horsepower or so to say.... I love my 270 and it takes care of just about anything in the wilds of North America. (I wouldn't tempt fait with a Griz though)

Thru the front shoulders or under the chin if facing you,don't stop shooting until they are dead!!I wouldn't be afraid to shoot any black with a 30-30.

Next Question