9mm Revolver Question

Gpappy

I have seen postings that talk about a S&W 547 in 9mm. Does this use the moon clips like the 45 ACP S&W 625? I started shooting IDPA not too long ago and thought I would use my 625 but they told me that it would have to be less than a 4" barrel and mine is 5". Does anyone have a good source of information on the 547 and maybe a picture? How rare is it?
Thanks
Greg

Extractor is altered to work with the rimless case. No clips. Works just like a regular rimmed case revolver.

Not a lot of em around for sale, they seem to appear when one isn't lookin for one. $300 ought to get a really nice one once found. Last year saw a LNIB with box, papers, cleaning kit etc go for $250 out the door. I was snoozin and missed it.

Unless you are hung up on the 9X19 cartridge, why not get a 19 or 586 in 4". Easier to find and otherwise pretty much the same gun and price range. Yeah, I know L frame and K frame.

Sam

C.R.Sam
Thanks for the reply. I am not really hung up on any particular caliber, only the idea of the moon clips which tend to speed reloads. I like my 625, but the 5 inch keeps me from using it for competition. I was hoping that there was another caliber which used the moon clips but in a 4" barrel.
Regards
Geg

You may shoot your 5" M625 in IDPA SSR until October 26th when the minimum length will be reduced to 4". There is no requirement for it to be less than 4". You can enter the Nationals October 2nd with it if you want to, the rule change does not take effect until after that.

Quoting from the rules on IDPA.com:

STOCK SERVICE REVOLVER DIVISION

Any revolver of 9mm/.38 Special Caliber or larger with a barrel length of 5" or less. NOTE: Effective 10-26-02 the maximum barrel length will be reduced to 4”

Then you could get your barrel professionally shortened. One source is:
http://www.sdmfabricating.com/Packages.html