9mm Or 40S&W, which way to go?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NexusLexus

Inactive
Hi there,

I need your help. Im kinda new to guns. Thinking about buying my first hand gun, not neccesarilly for protection, just always wanted a gun. I was considering the HK USP , since I heard so many good things about it.
The problem I have is choosing which caliber, 40S&W or 9mm. Both has its advantages and disadvantages.
I like the 9mm its cheap, universal, and has greater round capacity. The 40S&W has more stopping power.
I'm favoring the 40 but I afraid of the recoil and magazine capacity. But on second thought, the 9mm should have enough stopping power since the military uses 9mm on most handguns.
Overall which caliber do you think is best?, when considering price, accuracy, recoil, stopping power, noise, etc...

I have struggled with this question for years and finally gave up. I own pistols in both calibers. It is ultimately the only way you will get some peace of mind.

Ohhh, brother.

By that I don't mean it's a bad question...on the contrary. Just that it's likely to stir up some unresolvable debate.

[This message has been edited by Futo Inu (edited August 30, 1999).]

Greetings, sir. If you are new to handguns, perhaps you'd be better served with a good .357 magnum revolver, a mid-sized weapon with a 4" bbl would meet many requirements. It could also be loaded with light-recoiling .38 wadcutters right on up through the full-house magnums if and when you wanted that level of performance. That said, if you want the semiauto, based on your post, I'd go with the 9mm. As you note, it's cheaper and you'll be wanting to put many rounds through it in practice and learning the weapon. With proper loads, the nine can be a good "stopper" and it's recoil is less than that of the forty. I own 9mm, .40, and .45 acp pistols and do not feel undergunned at all when I choose a nine for serious puposes. Best.