9mm 1911

RHarris

Does anyone have any experience with 1911's chambered in 9mm? I'm interested due to the lower recoil and ammo cost.

Kimber has one listed in their catalog. Who else makes one? Are there major differences between the parts on them and .45 1911's other than the barrel and magazine? Can a .45 be easily converted to 9mm? Do the barrels have a left hand twist? How does one compare to a Browning Hipower? Are these things worth messing with?

I may be able to help with some of these questions. In 9mm I have a Colt's Combat Commander and a 1991A1 GM. They're a lot of gun for 9mm, but I like them. They recoil less than their .45 brothers. But as important to me, they're something a little out of the ordinary, and in general are just fun to shoot.

In addition to the barrel and mag, the 9mm slide (including the extractor) is different from the .45. The ejector is also different. In fact, 9mm 1911s are closer to guns set up for .38 Super than for .45. So, I think a 9mm to .45 conversion would be possible, but would involve the upper half of the pistol and then some.

Are 9mm 1911s worth the effort? It's a good question, but the answer may be kind of subjective. I find them interesting and fun pistols, and mine are keepers. But where 1911s are concerned, the more appropriate and certainly more traditional sub-.45 cartridge remains the .38 Super.

HTH.

[Edited by jimmy on 12-27-2000 at 10:52 AM]

Although Kimber lists them in their catalog, they are not producing any, apparently due to the demand for .40 and .45.

ParaOrdnance is manufacturing a LDA high capacity model.

I didn´t know if these pistols are at the gunshops.

alp-257

Conversion from 9mm to .38 Super requires a simple barrel and magazie swap, but conversion to .45 does require the complete top half PLUS the ejector in the frame.