7mm STW--any thoughts/experience with?

I have no personal experience with it, but it must be something. I once saw two men nearly come to blows over dibs on used one at the DE Cabela's. It was a "custom" stainless model, felt like it was about 6 lbs. It had a green Bells and Carlson stock, Mauser type action, and loooonnng fluted barrel. Price tag was $2799. They started there with a bidding war over who would walk out with it. I think the (very patient) old gent running the gun library that day was considering using it to paddle them both.

But if I ever wanted a 7mm/.284 faster than my 280AI, I would probably go STW. It has a certain, vintage authority over all other 7mms.

But if I ever wanted a 7mm/.284 faster than my 280AI, I would probably go STW. It has a certain, vintage authority over all other 7mms.
What I like is that gets way up there in velocity but apparently is not the barrel burner that similar high-power 7's are--plus the parent case is the 8mm Rem Mag but can apparently also be sized from 300 Weatherby (otherwise the cases, if you can find them, are outrageously expensive!!).

What I like is that gets way up there in velocity but apparently is not the barrel burner that similar high-power 7's !!).
The 7mm STW burns more powder than any other 28 caliber cartridge so it wears out barrels faster. 700 rounds is about all it'll give best accuracy.

I am interested in in hearing the argument why it would not be a barrel burner.

I personally notice few 7mm Rem Mag loads exceed 85% load density.

IMO,cases larger than 7mm Rem offer diminishing returns. 7 MM rem does not gain much over 280 AI.

Greater overbore = less expansion ratio. Which means margin of error is more necessary .Pressure events will be more sudden and dramatic.

The mag box limitations of most rifles make bullets much over 140 gr less practical,especially those of more VLD ogive,

Many(myself included) prefer the higher BC's and wind bucking of the 160 gr + 7mm projectiles.